And the Winners Are....

Thursday, June 2, 2011

The St. Charles Companies proudly announced the winners of our annual Community Scholarship Awards.   Each year, four outstanding St. Charles youth are awarded $500 each to support the furthering of their academic and personal development.  This year’s winners are (drum roll, please!) Chelsey Taylor, Arianna Poindexter, Ariel Brown and Shante Moody.

Ms. Taylor is an academic standout from North Point.  Having been on the honor roll since 2007, she also was awarded the AP Scholar Award and found time to partake in community activities, including Schools for Schools, the Key Club, Student Government Association and the Girl Scouts.  She looks forward to studying information systems management.
Ms. Poindexter excelled at Westlake High, where she was named to the High Honor and Principal’s Honor Rolls and was a member of the National Society for High School Scholars.  In addition, she took part in the University of Maryland College of Journalism program for high school students.  Ms. Poindexter will be studying journalism at the University of Missouri, Columbia.

Another exceptional student from Westlake High, Ms. Brown, is our third scholarship recipient.  She completed the Scholars Course of Study, earned Principal’s Honors, and was a member of the National Junior Honor Society.  She also took part in Westlake’s Theater Program.  Ms. Brown plans to attend the University of Richmond, where she will study biology and then hopes to move on to pursue a Master’s in neonatology.
The final recipient is also the Apartments of St. Charles scholarship recipient.  Ms. Moody, of W.E.B. DuBois High was an outstanding student and an Honor Society Member.   She also participated in the Student Government Association and Future Business Leaders of America.  Ms. Moody will be a student of accounting at Towson University. “Young people like these four individuals represent the bright future of our community,” said Alan Shearer, CEO of the St. Charles Companies.

Photo:  Alan Shearer, CEO of The St. Charles Companies, congratulates (from left) Arianna Poindexter, Shante Moody, and Ariel Brown upon being selected as the 2011 St. Charles Community Scholarship awardees. Not pictured: Chelsey Taylor.